Cat Fight, or a Health Care Summit

Patriots,

On Wednesday of this week, I was working at the boot shop in Henrietta Texas. I was heading to the house next door to use the facilities when I heard a serious commotion behind me. There was screaming and yelling and something that sounded a little like babies crying at the top of their lungs.

It was a cat fight. No, not the kind of cat fight you see in a country and western bar parking lot on Saturday night, but a real cat fight. Two of the largest cats I’ve seen in a while were way up in the top of a big tree in the neighboring yard. One of them was a dark grey almost black color. He was farthest out on a limb and was basically standing his ground, not moving much or making too much of the noise. The second one, black and white in color with a little bit of stripe on his back. This cat was making the most noises I have ever heard from a cat. He had his hair standing up, his tail was swinging back and forth and he was even causing the limb they both were standing on to shake. It was a heck of a fracas.

I stood there and watched for a bit wondering if these two were going to really get into it and fall out of the tree. They were at least 30 feet up from the ground. I was kind of curious to see if they were stupid enough to really get into it and cause them both to fall out of the tree and perhaps end up with both of them injured or dead.

After watching a few minutes, I went inside. When I came back out, all was quiet, with just the dark grey one still in the tree, same spot, just sitting there.

I thought that this little animal kingdom adventure kind of reminded me of Obama Health Care summit, dog and pony show we all witnessed this week.

The dark grey cat reminded me of the Republicans. Now I have pounded the Republicans pretty hard at times in my blog and my emails. But, the members of the party still take my emails and haven’t asked to be removed from my list so I must be fair in my posts. I have to admit, after Scott Brown voting along with the Democrats on the jobs bill, I realized that my earlier prediction of him was probably correct; (you may remember the “Republican Manchurian Candidate” post for the time around his election is Massachusetts.) I never thought he was going to be a conservative like I want, but he is at least a tiny bit better than the former holder of the peoples seat there, but, I digress.

The Republicans did an outstanding job against the inane ranting of Nancy Pelosi, the anger fueled lies of Harry Reid and the power hungry, arrogant “I’m The President” BS of the anointed one. I was, and I am glad to say, PROUD of my Republican comrades. I thought they did a great job, standing their ground and not backing off as the meetings dragged on. Like the grey one, they dug their feet in, and with respect to the office and those in them that were trying to bully them into submission, they gave a great show of back bone and values. I say Bravo! Gentlemen, Bravo!

Which brings me now to the black and white one. Easy folks, relax, I am speaking of the cat, not the president. For all of his pomp, for all of his boisterous showmanship, for all of his hair standing, tail wagging, tree shaking, “This IS My Tree” BS, he had nothing. He went away, with his opponent still in the tree, right were he found him. It was all for nothing.

Just like the cat, Obama thought that all he had to do was show up, and the Republican sea would part and he would walk the bill through. Sorry Mr. President, bring it on. If we can’t defeat the bill because of Reconciliation, we will fight it constitutionally. If that doesn’t work, after your Democrat colleges have been sent home in 2010, we will see.

At some point, Washington, State and local governments will get our point. One way or another. We have the vote; we have the right of redress and last but not least, the 2nd Amendment to the constitution. The right that guarantees all others.

On an unrelated note, on this day in history, February 27th 1933, Nazis set fire to the German Parliament Building; The Reichstag was destroyed by fire. The Nazis blamed it on Communists. The event is seen as crucial in the establishment of Nazi Germany.

Adolph Hitler, who had been sworn in as Chancellor of Germany four weeks before, on 30 January, urged President Paul von Hindenburg to pass an emergency decree to counter the “ruthless confrontation of the Communist Party of Germany”. With civil liberties suspended, the government instituted mass arrests of Communists, including all of the Communist parliamentary delegates. With them gone and their seats empty, the Nazis went from being a plurality party to the majority; subsequent elections confirmed their position and thus allowed Hitler to consolidate his power. The rest as they say is history.

Tea Party members remember, “Never let a good crisis go to waste”, stay vigilant. Carry on.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

